Nathan’s Back and Alan’s Got Him!

nathan-fillion-alan-tudykSo no doubt like me, you are wondering what the HELL is going on with Castle, and why, if they will never let Castle and Beckett be together for more than five minutes at a time, why they don’t just kill off Beckett? I mean no offense to Stana Katic, who was a great kick-ass cop in the first few seasons, but her character’s storyline has gotten so convoluted and weird, I just don’t care anymore.

Personally, I kind of wish they’d just kill Beckett off already, then make a spin off show about a widowed novelist-turned-inept detective and his very ept daughter played by Molly Quinn (like a combination of “Remington Steele” and “8 Simples Rules for Dating My Daughter”). But maybe that’s just me.

Anyway, if you’ve given up on Castle and there’s a Nathan Fillion-sized whole in your life, cruise over to Vimeo and check out Con Man instead. Granted, Nathan only makes the occasional cameo appearance in this hilariously geeky new web series from Alan “I’m a leaf on the wind” Tudyk. But there are scads of other fabulous cameos too: Wil Wheaton, Sean Astin, Tricia Helfer and Sean Maher just to name a few.

The show is an acid-dipped love letter to all the geeky denizens of the SF Con world (I include myself in that universe, because even though I’m a lightweight when it comes to attending these things, my geek knowledge runs deep, people.) Alan Tudyk is very funny as one of those also-ran minor sci-fi celebrities. He’s higher ranking than a redshirt, but has not managed to parlay his time on cult show “Spectrum” into a flourishing film career. He has a sad, Eeyore-like demeanor while folks like Sean Astin keep showing up and trying to get him to enjoy the perks of being a geek icon. But even when he tries, it does not go well. There’s a little more bathroom humor in the first three episodes than I really like, but that goes away as Ray (Tudyk’s character) gets himself into weirder and weirder predicaments. Each episode is only 10-15 minutes long too, so you can easily check it out on your lunch break at the office. A definite thumbs up!

Here’s a link to Entertainment Weekly’s story about the series.

http://www.ew.com/article/2015/09/28/con-man-nathan-fillion-alan-tudyk-episodes-streaming

I think everyone can access the first three episodes now on Vimeo. I’m special, I helped my good buddies Alan and Nathan to fund this baby via IndieGoGo, so I’ve already gotten to see ALL the episodes, thank you very much. You’ll have to settle for those first three right now, but I’m sure the other episodes will be available to everyone soon. And you’re going to love them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

