5 Ways to Stay a Writer – from Roger Colby

In the absence of time to do my own original blogging (due to writing an actual book and magazine articles galore now that I am free of Froghammer) – here are some great observations from Roger Colby at Writing Is Hard Work. And a  a brief, brilliant observation from Harlan Ellison one of the greatest speculative fiction authors ever. Enjoy!

Writing Is Hard Work

ellison writerThis quote by one of my favorite writers (Harlan Ellison) is irrevocably true.  How many students have I taught to write over the years who most likely do not use that skill now that they are adults?  I’m sure the number is more than I’m willing to admit.

I consider myself a pretty prolific writer.  I’ve been writing since I was 15, and now that I am in my 40’s with a full-on career and a large family taking up most of my time, I have to make time to write.  I do this because I simply love it, but there have been times when I’ve thought about quitting, times when I start thinking that this thing I love to do is just a hobby, something to be cast aside when I grow tired of it.

I haven’t done this yet because thankfully there are five methods or techniques I use to…

View original post 762 more words

Leave a Reply

