Book in a Minute: Apple Tree Yard

Apple Tree YardApple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A clever, subtle story of suspense and deception. Adulteress Yvonne Carmichael and her lover stand in the dock at Old Bailey, accused of a heinous crime. Did they do it? And if so, which of them was the instigator, which one the pawn? Do even they know the answer?

This one was truly impossible for me to put down. I had a hectic schedule and couldn’t finish it in one sitting, although I desperately wanted to. So much so, that I wound up unable to sleep that night with wondering what came next. The next afternoon, with fifty pages to go and a couple of miles from home, I realized I’d left the book at my office. The thought of not being able to finish it that day was intolerable. I actually turned the car around and drove back to the office to pick up the book.

Which is not only a great advertisement for Louise Doughty’s taut, intense prose–it’s also a great argument for buying more ebooks in the future.

View all my reviews

Comments

  1. Based on your review, I just bought the Kindle version. As soon as I finish Anne Perry, I’ll dig in!

    • It’s being compared to Gone Girl, but I liked Apple Tree Yard much better. Still a book with a lot of really screwed up main characters, but I cared more about their plight than the husband and wife in Gone Girl. There seems to be a whole wave of similar books right now, I guess because of Gone Girl–stories about marriages that aren’t what they appear to be. So I guess you could call it the “Marital Suspense” genre!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty – maybe there was a murder, maybe not. definitely there was adultery. also, insightful thoughts on the complications of being a modern career woman and mom and how you can never be quite good enough at any of it. check out my earlier review here […]

Leave a Reply

