Ash Wednesday

299Teach us to care and not care. Teach us to sit still. ~ T. S. Eliot, “Ash Wednesday

I’m an indifferent Catholic at best, but I love the rituals and ceremonies of the Church. Today is Ash Wednesday, and every year, Catholics give up something starting today, as preparation for Easter. When you’re little, you usually wind up giving up food of some sort, but I think that gets old. My husband, a half-hearted convert upon our marriage, gives up sodas every single year. Which is a riot, since he doesn’t drink much soda. Protestant thinking in action: You want me to do what? Give something up? For HOW LONG? 

A couple of years ago, I gave up Facebook, but if I gave that up completely now, my friends would probably think I’d turned on them. Some of them pretty much live on Facebook and I’m pretty sure I’d never hear a peep out of them if I gave it up completely. Still, I’m going to try. I’m going to minimize my time on Facebook – can’t give it up completely, because even the parent’s group at Dr. Cooper’s school uses it to post meeting notices, etc. But I will try to avoid it’s siren call.

I’m also going to minimize time on other Social Networks – I like Pinterest and Twitter I couldn’t care less about, but I don’t really need to be on either of them. Other than the storyboards I’m developing on Pinterest for my next couple of books. I’m not big on plotting stories out in advance, but I do like to visualize things. I used to cut pictures out of magazines and paste them on notecards – then I’d have a whole little file box of settings and characters right on my desk. I still like that better than a “virtual bulletin board,” but I’m trying not to be a total Luddite.

At any rate, why am I telling all of you this? Because the blog is taking a break too. This is just such a seductive timesuck. Thinking of topics, finding pictures, finding links, checking one’s statistics (Oh, look, someone from Albania reads my blog!) If I ever want to finish another book, I need to put less effort into this blog.

And so, I’ll be on Blog-cation until Easter. Those who need to get in touch can shoot me a message through the website or Facebook or even Twitter, because I will check them periodically. Those who come here for the Captain Tightpants moments, I leave you with this:

tumblr_lwfajalkR21r680j7o1_400

Comments

  1. I don’t get Twitter. Unless you have something witty and pithy to say every day, it becomes a cess pool of mediocrity as Sherlock Holmes said on Elementary last week. I haven’t given up anything for Lent in decades. As our former pastor used to say–it’s no sacrifiice to give up a hot dog for lobster on Fridays in Lent. This Lent I’ve decided to try to be more patient with my husband. He drives me crazy so I’ve decided to chill when he gets on my nerves.

    • Your pastor had a point – the only sacrifice in eating seafood on Fridays in Lent is the financial one. And considering how expensive seafood is, that’s a pretty big one.

  2. I just deactivated our Twitter accounts!

    • I was thinking of doing likewise. Do you lose your account name if you deactivate it? Because I don’t want to have to come up with something even more obtuse than WordsmithLynn. (I had to use that because LynnReynolds was already spoken for.)

  3. Your blog-cation during lent is.. “Blent.”

Trackbacks

  1. […] Ash Wednesday (lynnreynolds.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

