Things To Do While Hibernating – What to Eat

I was going to write a lot of words hear about some of my favorite winter recipes. Calorie and carb laden comfort festivals like chili and cornbread, Jamie Oliver’s low-budget Beef Wellington, and two family favorites: Nanny’s Tomato Noodle Soup and traditional Maryland Crab Soup. But you know, my new fave app Rescue Time tells me I am spending way the hell too much time on the ol’ Social Network and way the hell too little time on the ol’ Writing A New Novel Work. And so, without further ado, I present to you, “What To Eat While Hibernating, A Visual Diary.”

Maryland Crab Soup – although this time of year, you might have to settle for imported crabmeat, it’s still yummy. Here’s a great quick and easy recipe from AllRecipes.com.

921471

Chili and Cornbread – Here’s the chili

picVWlHJa

And here’s the cornbread

048

By the way, I used this exact cornbread recipe when I made the crab soup last week, except I used a regular can of corn instead of creamed corn. It still came out moist and delicious. Even Dr. Cooper, who normally hates cornbread, scarfed this one up.

I could really get carried away writing a blog about what to eat. I love to cook, which is why, since injuring my knee and not being able to run anymore, I am now thirty pounds more sexy than I was three years ago. But I digress. There are already many, many fabulous food blogs out there and I couldn’t even hope to hold my own with them. I’m impressed at all these people spending so much time snapping shots of what they’ve just baked. I can barely remember to turn the oven off. But if you’re looking for more recipes for Hibernation Season, here are some places to visit.

Play. Eat. Grow.

Couldn’t Be Parve – great for folks who keep kosher, but also handy for those, like Dr. Cooper, who are allergic to dairy

And my own lovely “Food, Glorious Food” board at Pinterest will point you in the direction of many more yummy recipes.

Comments

  1. My stomach is rumbling. I made vegetarian chilli and corn bread last night. It was the first time I’ve made my own corn bread, and it was delicious if I do say so. I’ve made chili many times but this was the first time I made vegetarian. Also very delicious. Since I’ve retired I collect recipes and spend more time cooking, which is why I’ve gained a few pounds.

Leave a Reply

